London Press Club Awards 2018: The Winners

Here at 4media we like to keep our finger on the pulse. With that in mind our Head of News, Piers Eady has been keeping an eye on the world of journalism.

The news industry’s award season continued this week (May 2) with the prestigious London Press Club Awards. The ceremony honours the best of British journalism over the past year.

The Sun’s politics duo Harry Cole and Tom Newton Dunn won the coveted Scoop of the Year award with their expose of the Westminster sex pest scandal.

Daily newspaper of the year went to The Times, which fought off competition from The Daily Mail and the i for the gong, while the Mail on Sunday won Sunday newspaper of the year.

Broadcast journalist of the year was Sky TV veteran Kay Burley, who won in a strong all-female shortlist consisting of the BBC’s Europe editor Katya Adler and the Beeb’s political editor Laura Kuenssberg.

The Sunday Times’ political editor Tim Shipman won the print journalist of the year award, while’s Heidi Blake walked off with digital journalist of the year.

Writer Sathnam Sanghera won the Edgar Wallace award for fine writing.

Business journalist of the year was Martin Lewis, of Mr Lewis wrote on Twitter: “Wonderful to get it as a money journalist. We’re often seen as the poor relation within business, but I believe money journalism done right educates, informs & improves lives.”

But perhaps the most poignant moment of the night was the Londoner of the Year award.

This went to Keith Palmer, the hero police officer who was murdered by Westminster terror attacker Khalid Masood in the course of his duty defending the Houses of Parliament.

Press Breakfast Seminar: Tips to get your news story noticedBroadcast PR: Rajar Q1 2018 Figures and Trends